Beastly Movie Cover  By Rhea

Beastly is a modern version of Beauty and the Beast. I am not going to include a summary because there is a summary of Beastly the book in a previous review, and the plot is pretty much the same. I really like the book. However, I cannot say the same about the movie. Of course, the plot of the movie was good because it was based on the book. Yet there were many issues with the movie. First of all, the beast in the movie was nothing like the beast in the book. The beast in the book was a hairy, fanged, beast-thing. In the movie, it was just a guy with tattoos and scars. I have read the book so this annoyed me, but if one hasn’t read the book, this can be overlooked. Another issue I had with the movie is more of my person bias. The female lead is played by Vanessa Hudgens, and in my opinion she is not the best actress. Again, this is a biased viewpoint and can be ignored. The movie also moved kind of fast and left out some key points, but I guess this is true about most movies based on books. There were some other issues I had with the movie, but they are small and not a big deal. There were some funny moments in the movie which made the movie a little better. The acting by the tutor was funny, and the witch was pretty interesting too. It was an okay movie, not amazing but not that bad either. Plot-wise the movie was pretty good, but for those who have read the book, the movie may not seem as great. For those who haven’t read the book, Beastly is a good way to pass the time.

