A Great and Terrible Beauty, by Libba Bray [Teen Fiction]

Reviewed by Annie, highschooler

This book was very interesting.  When I picked it, the cover is what intrigued me so.  I knew immediately that it was set in the late 1800s, which is one of my favorite eras, and was excited to read of the beauty of the time.  When I took it off the shelf, I had no idea the book was about magic realms and a secret order that drastically impacts Gemma’s 1895 life.

I really love the idea of another world; one of dreams and wishes come true.  I also loved Pippa’s lust for love, throughout the story-line.  Although seemingly, somewhat friendly with the girls, Felicity worries me with her hunger for power. I thought the ending was good, but Pippa’s fate was both happy and devastatingly sad.  And I just adore Kartik! Seeing as this is the first of a trilogy, I plan on continuing it, by next reading Rebel Angels.  I give three stars to A Great and Terrible Beauty. ( * * * )

